• Blogs
  • Ipl
  • A Look At The Teams Of Womens Premier League 641402bca602c70001ef34bb

A Look at the teams of Women's Premier League

IPL  •  17 Mar, 2023  •  8,043 Views  •  ⭐ 5.0

Written by Shivani Chourasia

Share this article


The Women's Premier League is a Twenty-20 cricket franchise league in India, with the inaugural season in March 2023. The League is owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In the first season, five teams will be participating in the tournament. The tournament is taking place in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. Before the WPL, the Women's T20 challenge was the major women's Twenty20 competition in India.


Let's take a look at the five teams that are participating in the inaugural WPL:

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals reveal team captain and vice captain for Women Premier League  2023
Image Credits: DNA India

Delhi Capitals will be representing New Delhi city. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd owns the team. In the inaugural season, Meg Lanning who is the Captain of the Australian Women's Team will be leading Delhi Capitals with her vast experience. Jonathan Batty and the team will be managing the team. They have a very balanced team. On one hand, they have experienced players like Meg Lanningm, Jess Jonassen, Shikha Pandey, and others. On the other hand, they've young talented players like Sneha Deepthi, Alice Capsey, and Tara Norris.



We've got a IPL quiz for you!


Gujarat Giants

Image Credits: The Quint

Gujarat Giants will be representing the Ahmedabad city. Adani Group owns the team. In the first season, Indian all-rounder Sneh Rana will be Captaining the team. Rachael Haynes and her team will be providing the coaching to Gujarat Giants. They boast one of the best teams in the tournament with the majority of their players having international caps.

Login to read more!