• Blogs
  • Cricket
  • Asia Cup 2023 Sri Lanka Vs Bangladesh Preview 64fac83214e5bf00012870cc

Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka Vs. Bangladesh Preview

Cricket  •  8 Sept, 2023  •  2,111 Views  •  ⭐ 5.0

Written by Shivani Chourasia

Share this article


Asia Cup 2023 is witnessing thrilling encounters, with the next spotlight on Sri Lanka and Bangladesh's Super 4 clash on September 9 in Colombo. Both teams have previously squared off, with Sri Lanka gaining the upper hand. But with high stakes and inclement weather looming, the game promises heightened suspense.'


Venue & Weather Factors

Asia Cup: After Ind v Pak Washout, Thunderstorms May Push Super 4 Games Out  of Colombo | Weather.com
Image Credits: The Weather Channel

Colombo, chosen to host the subsequent matches of the Asia Cup 2023 up to the grand finale on September 17, is facing potential weather disruptions. Though Hambantota was initially pegged as an alternative venue, the decision leaned towards Colombo, regardless of rain threats. Given the recent rain-affected matches like the India-Pakistan and India-Nepal games, many question the wisdom behind this scheduling during Sri Lanka's monsoon season.

Sri Lanka's Play & Squad Analysis

Sri Lanka squad for Asia Cup 2022 announced; Shanaka to lead - Sportstar
Image Credits: Sportstar - The Hindu

Sri Lanka, who recently clinched a victory against Afghanistan by a narrow margin, is riding on confidence. Their bowling lineup might face challenges in the absence of key players like Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Dusmantha Chameera, and Dilshan Madushanka. However, with stars like Maheesh Theekshana, they're optimistic about repeating their earlier triumph over Bangladesh.



We've got a Cricket quiz for you!


Sri Lanka's Squad

Sri Lanka vs Australia: Needing 59 Off 3 Overs, Dasun Shanaka Helps Sri  Lanka Pull Off Miracle Chase To Stun Australia In 3rd T20I. Watch | Cricket  News
Image Credits: NDTV Sports

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanaka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis (vc), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.

Login to read more!