9 Colours of Navratri: The Symbolism and Significance

Indian Mythology  •  9 Oct, 2023  •  2,679 Views  •  ⭐ 2.6

Written by Shivani Chourasia

Share this article


The aspicious occasion of Chaitra Navratri brings forth the worship of the nine incarnations of Maa Durga or Goddess Shakti: Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. Devotees embark on a spiritual journey during these nine days, each dedicated to venerating a specific aspect of the divine.


History and Significance

This sacred festival, celebrated annually by Hindus, unfolds over nine days between March and April. Commencing on the first day of the Chaitra month in the Hindu Luni-Solar calendar, this Navratri is interchangeably known as Chaitra Navratri or Vasanta Navratri. The culmination of these joyous celebrations coincides with Ram Navami, marking the revered birthday of Lord Ram on March 30, 2023.

Each day of Chaitra Navratri is intimately tied to a distinctive color, aligning with the reverence for Maa Durga's nine avatars. These colors, a visual symphony, infuse each day with symbolism and significance. As devotees immerse themselves in worship, they are guided by the essence of each color, creating a harmonious connection with the divine energies.



We've got a Indian Mythology quiz for you!


This spiritual journey during Chaitra Navratri transcends cultural boundaries, offering a profound opportunity for devotees to connect with the divine feminine and seek blessings for prosperity, wisdom, and spiritual enlightenment. As the vibrant hues of devotion paint the atmosphere, Chaitra Navratri stands as a testament to the enduring spirit of reverence and celebration within the Hindu tradition.

Save the Dates for Sharad Navratri 2023

Sharad Navratri 2023 is set to unfold its festivities from October 15th (Sunday) to October 23rd (Monday), with Dussehra on October 24th (Tuesday). Get ready for the celebrations by planning your home temple decor and coordinating your attire with the vibrant Navratri colors of 2023.

Login to read more!