Sherlock Holmes Books in Order: A Reading Guide

British Literature  •  21 May, 2024  •  1,638 Views  •  ⭐ 5.0

Written by Anand Swami

Share this article


Sherlock Holmes, the world's most recognizable detective, has intrigued readers and viewers for over a century. Created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Holmes is renowned for his exceptional deductive abilities and keen intellect. His stories, set in the foggy streets of Victorian London, capture the essence of the era while presenting timeless mysteries that continue to captivate audiences. With four novels and fifty-six short stories, new readers often wonder where to start. This guide provides the recommended reading order to best experience the adventures of Holmes and his loyal companion, Dr. John Watson. If you're looking for the Sherlock Holmes books in order, you've come to the right place.


Arthur Conan Doyle introduced Holmes in "A Study in Scarlet" (1887), creating a character inspired by Dr. Joseph Bell, a physician known for his keen powers of observation. Holmes' character is further developed in "The Sign of Four" (1890), showcasing his intellectual prowess and the introduction of his drug use. However, it was the short stories published in the Strand Magazine from 1891 that solidified Holmes' fame. The iconic illustrations by Sidney Paget, depicting Holmes in a deerstalker hat and Inverness cape, became synonymous with the character.

The novels and stories take readers on a journey through various cases, from the eerie moors in "The Hound of the Baskervilles" to the dark conspiracies in "The Valley of Fear." Each tale not only presents a unique mystery but also delves deeper into the personalities of Holmes and Watson. Collections like "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" and "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes" offer a glimpse into Holmes' methodology and the various challenges he faces. If you are looking to read the adventures of Sherlock Holmes books in order, starting with these collections is highly recommended.



We've got a British Literature quiz for you!


The stories in "The Return of Sherlock Holmes" and "His Last Bow" continue to showcase Holmes' brilliance, even as he faces new adversaries and evolving times. In the final collection, "The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes," readers encounter some of the darkest and most complex cases, reflecting the post-war disillusionment of the 1920s. These stories cement Holmes' legacy as the ultimate detective, capable of tackling the most intricate and bizarre mysteries. As we step into the world of Sherlock Holmes, we are reminded of the timeless appeal of these stories. They continue to entertain, inspire, and challenge readers, proving that the game is always afoot.

A Study in Scarlet & The Sign of Four

A Study in Scarlet & The Sign of Four
Image Credits: Amazon
Login to read more!